Sunday, February 17, 2019

UN Global Climate Action Award 2019, Germany (Fully covered attendance to the UN Climate Change Conference in Chile)

Applications are being accepted for The UN Global Climate Action Award 2019. If you are leading a results-driven project that is successfully addressing climate change, they want to hear from you.

Spearheaded by UN Climate Change’s Momentum for Change initiative, the UN Global Climate Action Award shines a light on the most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of what people around the world are doing to tackle climate change.

Applicants must choose one of the following four focus areas where their activity is making a difference:
  • Women for Results: Recognizing the critical leadership and participation of women in addressing climate change
  • Financing for Climate Friendly Investment: Recognizing successful financial innovations for climate change adaption and mitigation
  • Planetary Health: Recognizing novel solutions that balance the need for both human health and a healthy planet
  • Climate Neutral Now: Recognizing efforts by individuals, companies and governments that are achieving real results in transitioning to climate neutrality. 
Joint us on whatsapp, telegram, LINE

The award, the focus of United Nations Climate Change’s Momentum for Change initiative, recognizes the most innovative projects in the field of climate action.

Winning activities encompass scalable and replicable examples of what people are doing to address climate change, in the hope of inspiring others to act. The selected activities will be recognized and celebrated at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP 25) in Chile.

Past recipients of the award have maximized their impact and scaled up globally.

For example, Bhungroo, a rainwater management system used in dry spells to provide food security and sustainable livelihoods to marginal farmers across India, won the award in 2015. Today, Bhungroo is also being implemented in Ghana, Zimbabwe, Togo, and Madagascar.

Liter of Light, a solar lighting project that can be implemented with everyday objects and carpentry skills, won the award in 2011. It began in the Philippines and has since spread to 30 countries. In 2015, Liter of Light went on to win the coveted Zayed Future Energy prize.
Past winners have also included Google, Microsoft, and the Government of British Columbia, Canada.
The award’s Advisory Panel, made up of senior experts from various fields and countries, will select the winners. The panel is part of the secretariat’s Momentum for Change initiative, which is implemented with the support of The Rockefeller Foundation and operates in partnership with Climate Neutral Now, donors supporting the implementation of the UNFCCC Gender Action Plan, and the World Economic Forum.


  • Momentum for Change Lighthouse Activities receive the following benefits package:
  • Engagement with policy makers
  • Recognition by the UNFCCC secretariat;
  • Funded attendance to UN Climate Change Conference (apart from winners under the Financing for Climate
  • Friendly investment category, which need to be self-funded to attend the Conference);
  • Opportunities to present work to policy makers during the UN Climate Change Conference.
  • Public relations support
  • Concentrated media engagement effort prior to and during the UN Climate
  • Change Conferences, including placement of opinion pieces and earned media;
  • On-going digital campaign, including social media, email marketing and promotion on UN Climate Change website.
  • Marketing support
  • Promotional videos;
  • Dedicated webpage on the UN Climate Change website;
  • Interactive annual reports;
  • Professional photography.

If applicant’s project is selected as a winning activity under the Women for Results, Planetary Health, or Climate Neutral Now categories, applicants will receive a wide range of benefits, including:
  • Fully covered attendance to the UN Climate Change Conference in Chile;
  • Access to policy makers and potential funders during the conference;
  • Public recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat;
  • Public relations support and media training; marketing materials, including promotional videos;
  • Dedicated page about applicant’s project on their website;
  • Professional photography.

Your activity must meet the eligibility criteria for its respective area of focus. Please note that each of the four areas of focus has its own criteria. In order to meet the basic eligibility criteria, the activity must:
  • Address climate change mitigation or adaptation;
  • Be already implemented, or in the course of implementation;
  • Be scalable and/or replicable with potential for long-term impact;
  • Be innovative and/or demonstrate potential for long-term transformational change;
  • Deliver verifiable social and environmental benefits;
  • Not be registered or have intentions to register as a clean development mechanism (CDM) or joint implementation (JI) initiative in the next two years.

How to Apply:
Applications for the 2019 UN Global Climate Action Award will be accepted from 11 February through 30 April 2019 at: 

30 April 2019

Click Here