Thursday, February 7, 2019

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2019, Spain

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards recognize fundamental contributions in a broad array of areas of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities and artistic creation, as listed in these call conditions.

The BBVA foundation frontiers of knowledge Awards, whose twelfth edition is now open, recognize and reward world-class research and artistic creation, prizing contributions of singular impact of their originality and significance. The name of the scheme is intended to denote not only the research work that substantially enlarges the scope of their current knowledge- pushing forward the frontiers of the known world- but also the meeting and overlap of different disciplinary areas and the emergence of new fields.

The disciplines and domains of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are:
  • Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  • Biology and Biomedicine
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Ecology and Conservation Biology
  • Climate Change
  • Economics, Finance and Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Music and Opera
The Climate Change award recognizes both research endeavours in confronting this challenge and impactful actions informed by the best science. In Humanities and Social Sciences, the award will alternate annually between these two disciplinary domains, with this twelfth edition dedicated to the Social Sciences. Finally, the Music and Opera category encompasses composition, instrumental and vocal performance, musical and stage direction, and video art creation associated with musical or operatic works.

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards will be decided before April 30, 2020. The awards will be presented at a formal ceremony to be held in Madrid on June 18, 2020, preceded by a gala concert held in Madrid’s Teatro Real on the evening of June 17.

Laureates must agree to attend the presentation ceremony. In the case of awards going to teams, these will be represented by no more than three of their members.

If an award goes to a legal person, it must furnish the following documents after being notified of the award decision:
  • A copy of its bylaws
  • A copy of its tax identification number
  • A statement from the pertinent governing body of the organization or institution confirming its acceptance of the award

  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards consist of 400,000 euros, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each of their eight categories.
  • In the event that an award is shared by more than one person, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all recipients.
  • All awards, in whatever category, will be subject to the withholding and other taxes prescribed by current legislation, which will be deducted from their total amount.


  • Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change.

How to Apply:
The nominating institution or individual must provide the following information and documentation, at
  • Award category for which the candidate is nominated
  • Name of the nominating institution and officer/body, with the corresponding contact data (postal and e-mail address, plus landline and cell phone numbers)
  • Letter of nomination signed by the nominating officer/body
  • Candidate particulars including institutional affiliation and contact data
  • Description of the salient contributions of the candidate and reasoned arguments for the nomination (maximum of three pages, single spaced)
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae

30 June 2019

Click Here